jump to navigation

HubSpot’s Brian Halligan on Blog Analytics February 11, 2009

Posted by Richard Shatto in Blogs.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

WordPress and BlogSpot Fall Short .

Today, I was having an exchange with Dennis Schiraldi, a Linkedin connection and he sent me a link to HubSpot. Now, being a marketer, you’d  suppose that not knowing about this HubSpot, I must have been completely comatose for a while. But, there you go… it was indeed new to me. Not any more. After pouring over the site, for  what must have been 90 minutes or more (I lose track of time when I’m having fun), I came across this blog. 

Brian Halligan, CEO and Founder of HubSpot recently wrote the blog named How Blogs Fall Short. It’s about shortcomings of the major blog engines like WordPress, the one I use, for business users. 

 He expresses 3 issues:

  1. Blog engine analytics only give you the “attraction side” of the prospect to customer (revenue) equation, not the conversion side.  
  2. Blog engines make it difficult to properly brand the blog for the business. It also frustrates the corporate website metrics by the blog’s naming conventions. 
  3. Blog engines do not provide the conversion tools to properly qualify the newly attracted prospects. 

Brian may be correct in his analysis.

He asked for a comment on the blog, and as I’m a new blogger, still feeling my way around, poking at the various tools and widgets available for WordPress, I’m not sure I can adequately comment, except to say it does seem these various widgets/tools do provide, or are trying to provide the analytics it question.

Brian, perhaps if you have a solution(s), you’d like to share them. I’m sure there are many of us willing to listen.

Richard Shatto
Wordstorm Communications
Facilitators for Innovative Business Growth 
C | 604-807-6334 | wordstorms@gmail.com 
LinkedIn | http://www.linkedin.com/in/rickshatto
Blog | https://rshatto.wordpress.com  
Twitter | http://twitter.com/RickShatto
Skype | iamubiquitous

Comments»

1. Katie Farrar - February 12, 2009

Hey Richard! Glad you found Brian Halligan’s article and the HubSpot website interesting and helpful. If you’re new to blogging you should check out this HubSpot archived webinar on “Blogging for Business.” http://www.hubspot.com/archive/blog-webinar

If you’re interested in talking more you can get my contact information from Dennis. I’m working with him directly to get his company started with HubSpot.

-Katie

2. Mike Volpe - HubSpot - February 12, 2009

So…. one solution is to use the HubSpot’s business blogging software (http://www.hubspot.com/products/business-blog/) because we built it from the start with business blogging in mind (we use it for our own blog). It has analytics built in to help you track the SEO performance of each article and track the blog performance overall.

3. Brian Halligan - February 13, 2009

Glad you found us, Richard! Welcome to the HubSpot-o-sphere!

Brian Halligan.

Richard Shatto - February 13, 2009

Thanks Brian,

I am too… already referring people by blog and personally. Will need to talk to someone soon about how to talk to clients about it. I assume Katie Farrar would b e that person. Or, is she the one I direct my clients too?

Richard

4. Sandra_Dalene_VanAlstine - August 1, 2009

Sandra Dalene VanAlstine – Wanted to introduce myself

Thanks
Sandra Dalene VanAlstine

5. discodaug - September 8, 2009

Hi,

Thank you for the great quality of your website, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

I would like to suggest you to come and try the latest black hattitude.
you’ll find a lot of stuff dealing with the black hattitude,

You can buy some black hattitude, rent black hattitude, steal black hattitude, or find
the ultimate black hattitude on our sites.

bye,

Darren Heel

black hattitude

6. Violette - February 4, 2013

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

7. christian singles in nigeria - September 11, 2013

Hi, after reading this awesome piece of writing i am too glad to share my knowledge here with mates.

8. katalog Stron internetowych wp - August 20, 2014

Hello to every one, the contents present at this site are truly amazing
for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

9. sliding glass windows home - September 22, 2014

I’m no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, however great topic.
I must spend some time finding out much more or figuring out more.

Thank you for excellent info I used to be in search of this
information for my mission.

10. Quan ao tap aerobic hcm - May 1, 2016

Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I
stumbleupon everyday. It’s always exciting to read articles from other writers and use something
from other websites.

11. software investment banker - June 17, 2016

I ᴡas suggested this website by my cοusin. I’m not sure whether
this post is writtеn Ьy him as nobody else know such detailеd
about my diffіcսlty. You are amazing! Thanks!

12. jasa seo bergaransi - October 15, 2016

Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.

I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year
old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to
her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is
entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!


Leave a Reply

